Deutsch | English | Français

The Project, The Intuitivity Thesis

 

Intuitive Reason in Kant's Critical Transcendental Philosophy?

Kant is generally considered as the champion of a theory of discursive reason. Scholarly opinion unequivocally regards Kant as postulating human reason as a discursive faculty. Kant's critical philosophy only allowed for divine knowledge as an intuitive rationality, principally inaccessible for man as a finite being. And indeed, Kant repeatedly takes an explicit stance against the notion of an intuitive intellectuality in human knowledge.

The Intuitivity Thesis

In my research project I intend to show that, surprisingly perhaps, Kant's concept of pure reason does not only rest on discursive moments, but that intuitive moments also play a significant role. Here, my intuitivity thesis does not refer to the sphere of knowledge of objects in the narrowest sense [Gegenstandserkenntnis], but to Kant's transcendental philosophy, which he also categorised as the "self-knowledge" [Selbsterkenntnis] of pure reason. I intend to demonstrate that Kant conceived of pure reason as an intuitive faculty in the transcendental analytic and in the transcendental doctrine of method of the Critique of Pure Reason, in the Critique of Practical Reason, in the Prolegomena and other writings and show how an intuitive mode of rational cognition plays a central systematic role in his critical transcendental philosophy. Even though Kant does not explicitly support this notion and, indeed, in many instances appears to argue the contrary, transcendental philosophy is, according to Kant, only possible on the basis of an intuitive self-knowledge [Selbsterkenntnis] of pure reason.

Consequences

It goes without saying that this research finding raises a series of questions and presents contemporary Kant scholarship with a new set of tasks. Especially in connection with my doctoral thesis which offers a proof of the identity of God and pure practical reason and the identifiability of God and the rational being in the doctrine of postulates in the Critique of Practical Reason [> www.estdeusinnobis.de ], this finding leads to new questions on Kant's concept of reason and new perspectives on understanding Kant's philosophy as a whole.

Deutsch | English | Français

Projekt, Intuitivitätsthese

 

Anschauende Vernunft in Kants kritischer Transzendentalphilosophie?

Gemeinhin gilt Kant als Verfechter einer diskursiven Vernunftauffassung. Kant – so die einhellige Forschungsmeinung – konzipiere die menschliche Vernunft als ein prinzipiell diskursives Vermögen. Eine darüber hinausgehende, intuitive Rationalität werde von Kant im Rahmen seiner kritischen Philosophie allein der göttlichen Erkenntniskraft eingeräumt, die dem Menschen als prinzipiell endlichem Wesen nicht zugänglich sei. Und in der Tat bezieht Kant im Rahmen seiner kritischen Philosophie immer wieder explizit Stellung gegen die Idee einer intuitiven Intellektualität menschlicher Erkenntnis.

Die Intuitivitätsthese

Im Rahmen meines Forschungsprojekts möchte ich jedoch zeigen, dass in Kants Konzeption der reinen Vernunft bemerkenswerter Weise neben diskursiven Momenten auch intuitive Momente eine tragende Rolle spielen. Dabei bezieht sich meine Intuitivitätsthese nicht auf die Gegenstandserkenntnis der reinen Vernunft im engeren Sinn, sondern auf die Transzendentalphilosophie, die Kant auch als "Selbsterkenntnis" der reinen Vernunft bezeichnet. Ich möchte zeigen, dass und in welcher Weise Kant die reine Vernunft in der transzendentalen Analytik und in der transzendentalen Methodenlehre der "Kritik der reinen Vernunft", in der "Kritik der praktischen Vernunft", in den "Prolegomena" und an anderen Stellen als anschauendes Vermögen fasst und ein als intuitiv zu kennzeichnender Erkenntnismodus im Rahmen seiner kritischen Transzendentalphilosophie von systematisch zentraler Bedeutung ist. Auch wenn er diesen Sachverhalt nicht explizit macht und viele seiner Äußerungen zunächst das Gegenteil zu behaupten scheinen, ist Kant zufolge Transzendentalphilosophie nur unter der Bedingung einer intuitiven Selbsterkenntnis der reinen Vernunft möglich.

Konsequenzen

Es bedarf keiner Erläuterung, dass dieses Ergebnis viele Fragen aufwirft und die zeitgenössische Kantforschung vor neue Aufgaben stellt.
Auch und vor allem im Zusammenhang mit den Ergebnissen meiner Promotionsschrift, die die Identität von Gott und reiner praktischer Vernunft und die Identifizierbarkeit von vernünftigem Wesen und Gott in der Postulatenlehre der "Kritik der praktischen Vernunft" unter Beweis stellt [> www.estdeusinnobis.de], ergeben sich eine Fülle neuer Fragestellungen in Hinsicht auf Kants Vernunftkonzeption und neuartige Perspektiven für das Verständnis der Kantischen Philosophie als Ganzer.