Deutsch | English | Français

Background

 

The idea for this project goes back to 1995 when I began to prepare my doctoral thesis on the identity of God and pure practical reason (Identity Thesis) and the identifiability of God and rational being (Identifiability Thesis) in Kant's Critique of Practical Reason. In my close eximantion of Kant's transcendental doctrine of method in the Critique of Pure Reason, I discovered – quite contrary to my expectations – that here intuitive moments of knowledge represented an implicit central point (Intuitivity Thesis), though one that Kant did not explicitly elaborate on.

During the course of my research, my doubts gradually became transformed into the conviction that the intuitivity thesis is justified and Kant really did implicitly conceive of human reason as having the power of intuitive knowledge. My initial attempts to elaborate the intuitivity of pure reason within my doctoral dissertation as a main argument supporting the identity and identifiability theses proved to be viable, although not suited for a methodically sufficient support of my thesis objective.

As a result, I produced a study that was completely independent from my doctoral thesis. The study, entitled "Aspekte intuitiver Rationalität in Kants Idee reiner Vernunftwissenschaft. Vorläufige Untersuchungsergebnisse [Aspects of Intuitive Rationality in Kant’s Idea of a Pure Science of Reason. Provisional Research Results]", demonstrated that intuitive reason could be directly identified in Kant's transcendental philosophy. The work has existed in an unpublished version of around 90 pages since 1998. The study is known only to a few professional philosophers (Hans Poser, Walter Jaeschke, Christa Hackenesch†, Matthias Wunsch, Ian Kaplow, Claude Piché) and the arguments it puts forward have only been aired in personal discussions and presented in a lecture given on this topic in 1998 at Institute for Philosophy at the Technische Universität Berlin. From 1998 to 2002, the further material I collected grew to around 300 pages in total.

Due to the lack of requisite funding from research or project grants, I have not yet been able to prepare the material for publication, a process that would take approximately 18 months. Nonetheless, the substantial interest shown in the intuitivity thesis in personal discussions with, first and foremost, researchers into idealism but also with other professional philosophers, has now (December 2008) led me to present the thesis an the proof of its validity in the form of smaller articles to scholarly debate. In a final step, I will then present the argument of these articles in book form.

Deutsch | English | Français

Hintergrund

 

Die Idee zu diesem Projekt geht zurück auf das Jahr 1995, in dem ich begann, meine Promotionsschrift zur Identität von Gott und reiner praktischer Vernunft (Identitätsthese) und zur Identifizierbarkeit von vernünftigem Wesen und Gott (Idenfizierbarkeitsthese) in Kants "Kritik der praktischen Vernunft" [>www.estdeusinnobis.de] vorzubereiten. In der Auseinandersetzung mit Kants transzendentaler Methodenlehre in der "Kritik der reinen Vernunft" entwickelte sich bei mir der Verdacht, dass hier – entgegen allen Erwartungen – intuitive Erkenntnismomente einen impliziten Kernpunkt darstellen (Intuitivitätsthese), der von Kant allerdings nicht explizit gemacht wird.

Alle meine Zweifel verwandelten sich im Fortschritt der Arbeiten zur Überzeugung, dass die Intuitivitätsthese wahr ist, und Kant tatsächlich die menschliche Vernunft implizit als intuitive Erkenntniskraft fasst. Anfängliche Versuche, die Intuitivität der reinen Vernunft im Rahmen meiner Dissertation als Hauptargument für die Legitimität der Identitäts- und Identifizierbarkeitsthese auszuarbeiten, erwiesen sich zwar als gangbar, aber in Hinsicht auf das Beweisziel der Arbeit als methodisch nicht genügend tragfähig.

Dies führte mich zur Ausarbeitung einer separaten, von meiner Promotionsschrift völlig unabhängigen Studie, die die Vernunftintuitivität direkt in der Transzendentalphilosophie unter Beweis stellt: "Aspekte intuitiver Rationalität in Kants Idee reiner Vernunftwissenschaft. Vorläufige Untersuchungsergebnisse". Diese Studie liegt seit 1998 in einer ca. 90-seitigen, unpublizierten Fassung vor. Nur wenige Fachphilosophen kennen sie (Hans Poser, Walter Jaeschke, Christa Hackenesch†, Matthias Wunsch, Ian Kaplow, Claude Piché) oder wissen von ihr aus Diskussionen bzw. aufgrund eines Vortrages, den ich im Jahr 1998 am Institut für Philosophie an der Technischen Universität Berlin zum Thema gehalten habe. In den Jahren 1998 bis 2002 erweiterte sich die Materialsammlung auf einen Umfang von ca. 300 Seiten.

Da Anträge für Forschungsstipendien und -projektgelder abgelehnt wurden, konnte ich die Bearbeitung der Studie zur Veröffentlichung, die etwa 1,5 Jahre beanspruchen würde, bislang nicht vornehmen. Auf Grund des großen Interesses, das vor allem Idealismus-Forscher aber auch Kant-Kenner und andere Fachphilosophen immer wieder an der von mir in persönlichen Gesprächen vertretenen Intuitivitätsthese zeigten, habe ich mich jetzt (Dezember 2008) entschlossen, die These und den Nachweis ihrer Legitimität in der Forschung zunächst in Form von kleineren Aufsätzen und abschließend in einer zusammenfassenden Buchpublikation zu platzieren.